About Canada

Land Mass: Canada is the second largest country in the world.
Provinces and Territories: Canada has 10 provinces and 2 territories, each with its own capital city (in brackets): Alberta (Edmonton); British Columbia (Victoria); Prince Edward Island (Charlottetown); Manitoba (Winnipeg); New Brunswick (Fredericton); Nova Scotia (Halifax); Ontario (Toronto); Quebec (Quebec City); Saskatchewan (Regina); Newfoundland (St. John’s); Northwest Territories (Yellowknife) and Yukon Territory (Whitehorse).

Capital : Ottawa, in the province of Ontario
Languages: English, the mother tongue of 16.1 million Canadians, and French, the language of 6.5 million, are Canada’s two official languages. However, many Canadians have a mother tongue other than English or French, including Hindi, Punjabi, Italian, Chinese, German, Portuguese, Polish, Ukrainian, Dutch, Greek or other languages.
Education :  The educational system varies from province to province and includes six to eight years of elementary school, four or five years of secondary school and three or four years at the university undergraduate level. The 1991 census revealed that among Canadians aged 15 and over, 56.9 percent had attended secondary school, 31.7 percent had gone to a trade school or other type of post-secondary institution, and 1.9 million — 11.4 percent of the population — had a university degree.
Leading Industries: These include automobile manufacturing, pulp and paper, iron and steel work, machinery and equipment manufacturing, mining, extraction of fossil fuels, forestry and agriculture.